fbpx

支持

艺术家和音乐家的独特应用

获得帮助

Eric Wenger的应用程序是独一无二的。如果你刚刚开始使用他的软件,请务必阅读CTX应用程序内的在线帮助->在线文档。

我们也有视频教程在我们的 YouTube频道.大多数是英文的,但有些是根据英文在线文件的法文。对于这些文件,请打开 YouTube封闭式字幕翻译器 用英语跟读。

其他支持类别包括。

关于培训和文件,请访问 学习页.

电子邮件支持

如果在审查这些部分后,你仍然有问题,请通过以下表格与我们联系。

所有售前和销售问题请使用此表。

推荐一个功能

你是否在我们的软件中遇到了一些意外?点击下面提交一份详细的问题报告,并附上清晰的 "复制步骤",直接提交给开发人员。另外,如果你有一个功能请求,请在这里输入。

订阅我们的通讯

请务必要求接收时事通讯,及时了解当前的新闻。如果您在2018年之后购买了优易软件,应该已经在上面了。

产品版本和更新

  • 设计师 - CTX 1.2.2版
  • 旅行者号 - CTX 1.2.2版
  • 探索者 - CTX 1.2.1版
  • MetaSynth - CTX 1.2.4版
  • Xx - CTX 1.0.4版

软件安装

要在MacOS X 10.10到10.14.6上安装,只需双击安装程序运行。在macOS(Catalina/Big Sur/Monterey)上,按住Control键,点击一次安装程序并选择打开,然后批准安装。

在运行更新前一定要备份你的文件。安装软件更新时,你有两个选择。1.运行安装程序,只更新应用程序和相关的新文件。2.在运行安装程序之前,通过更新当前应用程序文件夹的名称来执行 "清洁安装"--如果你想为较早的项目文件保留较早的版本,这很有用。

如果在MacOS X或macOS的后期版本上安装,确保批准出现的任何权限请求。

如果你在安装或启动MetaSynth或Xx时遇到问题,你的macOS或MacOS X有一个权限挑战。这是由于安装程序不能访问Documents文件夹,无法将演示项目安装在那里。请确保在安装过程中选择 "是 "来授予权限。如果你不小心点击了 "NO",进入 "系统偏好"->"安全与隐私"->"隐私"->"全磁盘访问"->"解锁 "面板,点击 "+"并添加 "安装程序"。这应该能绕过所有阻挡,让安装程序工作。

如果你在安装时仍有问题,请检查你的文档文件夹的 "获取信息",以确保你的权限是正确的。当MacOS X的安装通过VMware运行时,它们可能会被破坏。这可能会阻止访问。最后,搜索一下演示文件夹 "MetaSynth_Project",确保它在Users->[Account Name]-> documents文件夹中,iCloud可能移动了它们。

MetaSynth的安装程序覆盖了安装在Documents文件夹中的三个演示项目,不要在其中保存工作。如果要把它们作为一个新项目的起点,请复制项目文件夹,并先给它一个独特的名字。

重置一个应用程序的首选项

如果输入了错误的序列号,或者偏好设置导致了问题,请退出程序,删除应用程序文件夹中的.prefs文件,然后重新启动。这将恢复默认设置并允许输入一个新的序列号。如果你改变了你的MacOS X或macOS用户账户的名称,请按照这个程序进行。

访问您的FastSpring商店帐户

要下载最新的更新,1.申请一个 通过电子邮件提供24小时访问链接。 2.收到邮件后,点击邮件中的 "账户 "链接。3.进入你的账户后,点击以.pkg结尾的链接,最新的安装程序文件就会下载。

T在你的账户中的.pkg链接 可能 显示购买时的产品版本,忽略这一点,无论如何要点击。要验证版本,请查看应用程序菜单中的 "关于"(在运行的程序中)。

注意事项:

A.如果 "账户访问 "的电子邮件没有到达,并有链接。1.确保你输入了你在购买时设置为ID的电子邮件。2.2.清除你的浏览器的cookies或尝试不同的网络浏览器。3.3. 仔细检查您的垃圾邮件过滤器。

如果仍然没有到达,请向FastSpring支持部门开具票据 support@fastspring.com 他们将手动向你发送一个链接。如果你改变了电子邮件或使用两个不同的电子邮件作为ID,他们可以合并你的账户。

B.浏览器一直在变化,兼容性问题很常见。如果有些东西不工作,例如点击链接下载,请尝试不同的浏览器,或使用苹果的 "上下文菜单(又称鼠标右键)"另存为...

C.如果你是遗留客户(自2018年12月以来没有购买),请通过我们的支持页面联系U&I软件,以获得旧的序列号和下载。

MetaSynth+Xx产品说明

MetaSynth - 创建一个新的项目 文件夹 首先:

确保创建一个项目,不要把工作保存到演示中,它们会被更新所覆盖。要使用默认项目作为起点,复制项目文件夹并给它一个独特的名字。打开该文件夹,给.presets和.mont文件取与该文件夹相同的名字。

在图像合成器的Y轴上超越128像素

垂直是指音高。所以,大多数音阶的Y高度被限制在128,这可以确保不产生超过20k的频率。要解锁更宽的频率范围,请选择指数、自定义音阶或其中一个微调。

MetaSynth+Xx文件版本支持。

CTX版本的MetaSynth和Xx可以打开一些旧版本的文件。苹果公司的操作系统平台(MacOS、MacOS X、macOS)、硬盘文件格式、MacOS到MacOS X的文件格式、新的应用功能和可用的乐器的变化,在决定是否可以打开文件和听到什么声音方面起了作用。

MetaSynth的兼容性

  • AppkitOS: MetaSynth CTX 1.x 打开CTX 1.x, 6.x, 和 5.x
  • CarbonOS:MetaSynth 6打开6.x,5.x.(将更新仪器)。
  • CarbonOS:MetaSynth 5打开5.x和4.x(将.pict转换为.png)。
  • CarbonOS: MetaSynth 4 opens 4.x (将转换2.5/2.7文件)
  • MacOS(经典)。MetaSynth opens 3.x, 2.x, 1.x

Xx的兼容性

  • Xx CTX 1.x可以打开CTX 1.0,和Legacy 5.5,5.0,4.0 Xx序列包(.xxfl文件在.xx包文件内)。
  • PowerPC Xx 3.0 - 3.0、2.0、1.0序列文件(PowerPC)。苹果HSF文件与苹果软件包不兼容。

支持将MetaSynth 4的PICT文件转换为v5或v6的PNG,然后是CTX 1.x文件的扩展。 迁移说明迁移图

32位浮点数格式:

MetaSynth目前不支持.wav文件中的32位Float。这是由于.wav在历史上不支持这种格式。我们正在考虑在未来的版本中添加它。请使用苹果的Core Audio格式来代替。

项目文件提示

安装MetaSynth时关闭iCloud,这样可以确保MetaSynth_Project演示文件夹被放置在你实际的本地Documents文件夹中。在启动时,如果找不到它,MetaSynth会尝试把MS_Project文件夹放在那里。保持你的项目在本地(而不是远程),不要把工作保存在演示项目的文件夹里(MetaSynth_Project SpectralMS_Project VoicesPhase_Project),因为这些在重新安装时被覆盖。

Xx - 可选的音频单元支持:

如今,音频单元管理可能是一个挑战。有很多,而且很多都不符合规范,可能会失败。一个第三方的AU管理器,如 音频搜索 可能需要。你可能需要手动管理,见此 苹果文章.

Xx CTX 1.0一次最多支持16个音频单元。传统的Xx 5.5.支持48个。旧的MacOS文件夹权限可能会被破坏,阻止对AU的访问。这可以通过运行苹果的First Aid或第三方应用程序来解决。 BatchMod.

如果你错过了,随着Catalina(2019)的发布,苹果停止了他们的Carbon应用平台。CTX程序是为他们的AppKit平台重新创建的。你不能在AppKit程序中使用Carbon插件,只能使用为AppKit制作的插件。把Carbon和AppKit想象成两个不同的操作系统。

作为控制器的图像合成器与MIDI 作为一个控制器:

"在图像合成器中,合成并没有真正的开/关,每个播放的音符都有一个由像素亮度给出的可变音量包络,可以在音符的过程中变化,而音符可以是任何双精度(64比特)的音高。你可以想象到这种模式有什么不同(与MIDI)。当人们问及使用任何音频单元(AU插件)进行图像合成时,他们不知道那是多么不现实。我们必须强调Image Synth原则的力量,同时也要解释为什么MetaSynth乐器必须保持内部(复杂性的限制),以便这种大规模的合成策略能够实时工作"。- 埃里克-温格。

Xx文件与包

苹果公司的前Unix操作系统使用文件。项目文件没有应用程序类型的扩展名。后来的苹果操作系统可以有 "包 "文件,里面有文件。不要在Finder中改变包的名称,否则会破坏包和里面的.xxfl序列文件之间的联系。为了保持名称不变,要复制文件,不要重复。

ArtMatic产品说明

航海家渲染时间。

Voyager CTX 1.0使用所有可用的CPU处理器,包括渲染时间的优化。专业用户提示。1.更好 "的设置比 "最佳 "的渲染速度要快得多,这一点很少需要。2.渲染到 "图像列表 "比渲染到QuickTime电影快得多。那就使用这种方法,然后在你的视频编辑器中编译图像。新的macOS(Catalina/Big Sur/Monterey)Quicktime也可以这样做。3.复制Voyager应用程序文件夹,启动这两个文件夹,并同时渲染两个不同的场景。

设计师文件版本支持。

并非所有版本的Designer和Voyager都能打开旧的ArtMatic引擎文件。打开的能力不等于与后来的版本兼容,因为组件可能已经被改变或添加。

适用于AppKit操作系统的程序(Catalina/BigSur/Monterey加上10.10-10.14.6)。

  • 设计师CTX 1.2打开CTX 1.2,CTX 1.1,CTX 1.0,Legacy 7.5(结果可能有所不同)
  • 设计师CTX 1.1打开CTX 1.1,CTX 1.0,Legacy 7.5
  • 设计师CTX 1.0打开。CTX 1.0,7.5,7.2(当使用正常化颜色时)。
    6.0版的文件可能需要修改,以适应颜色和阿尔法范围的变化,或组件的变化。

适用于Carbon操作系统(10.x-10.14.6)和英特尔处理器的程序

  • Legacy Designer 7.5, opens 7.5, and 7.2, 6.x, 5.x 但颜色可能会改变。
  • Legacy Designer 7.2打开。7.2, 6.x, 5.x
  • Legacy Designer 6.x可以打开。6.x, 5.x, 4.x

用于Carbon OS(10.x-10.14.6)PowerPC处理器的程序

  • Legacy ArtMatic Pro (Designer) 5
  • 遗产ArtMatic(设计师)4

用于MacOS(经典)和PowerPC的程序

  • Legacy ArtMatic (Designer) 3.x, 可以打开2.x, 1.x (仅限PowerPC)。

ArtMatic程序与ArtMatic引擎版本相匹配。CTX应用程序与引擎版本8.x配对,最后的Legacy版本与7.x配对,等等。Legacy Designer 7.5与Voyager 4.5和vQuartz 4.5配对。

CTX ArtMatic引擎的版本和配对。

设计师文件加载。

在Designer未运行时,双击ArtMatic文件,会加载一个默认文件。请确保打开Designer并使用浏览器或文件打开来加载文件。

设计师与资源管理器的关键帧:

在设计器的探索室中处理关键帧,探索者应用程序的功能与设计室不同。Eric Wenger说:"探索室提供了对已发布的关键帧参数值的直接访问,因此你可以直接编辑KF数据。这是一种与设计室不同的方法。它的优点是你不需要记录关键帧和包络值,因为它们在参数滑块中反映一致。如果参数滑块反映的是当前状态而不是关键帧状态,你就不会有这些能力。参数滑块可以用来对包络值进行微小的调整,如果它们像设计室那样与当前状态相联系,那就不可能了。也就是说,如果我使用设计室的方法,就没有办法对包络数据进行数字调整。另外,同样的逻辑适用于Voyager "编辑艺术参数 "检查器,它不使用关键帧选择和显示,直接编辑KF值是必要的。一旦你知道它是如何工作的,它实际上是相当有效的,使动画参数的编辑更快。"

独特的文件保存过程:

"ArtMatic和Voyager现在可以让你单独设置保存的目录,这样你就不必每次都这样做。 虽然这偏离了苹果的标准,但它有一个强大的优势,即允许你只选择一次工作目录--这为用户节省了大量的时间。只需在需要的时候点击路径,就可以改变/重命名。但是注意,如果你在ArtMatic系统中做了大量的修改,最好用一个新的名字保存系统,这样就不会发生覆盖渲染的问题,因为图片会有一个新的默认名称"。- Eric Wenger

将视频长度设置为音频

影片渲染窗口允许用户选择全部视频时间的一个子集进行渲染。它不是用来增加视频长度的。要做到这一点,请使用 "腕表 "图标,点击并向右拖动,直到持续时间达到所需。当使用 "主音频输入 "来控制一个视频时,确保记下音频文件的长度,然后使用 "腕表 "图标来匹配。

用于Carbon或MacOS(经典)的传统产品概述

埃里克-温格的《软件开发史》。

遗留客户产品。

在苹果公司停止使用Carbon平台两年后,我们不再提供该操作系统的最终版本的过时产品的升级服务。为了确保客户能够使用CTX程序的最新功能,它们在MacOS X 10.10-10.14上是向后兼容的。 请访问我们的商店了解更多细节。

遗产客户商店。

2018年,U&I转移到一个专业和安全的电子商务商店平台(FastSpring)。每个季度都会通知客户在新的商店里重新注册他们目前的产品(Designer 7.2, Voyager 4.2, MetaSynth 6.0.1, Xx 5.5)。重新注册已不再适用,请直接联系支持。我们保留了旧商店的记录,可以根据要求提供序列。

遗产维基网站。

当迁移到新的网站时,要保持这个工作比预期的更难。我们现在提供 视频教程产品专家 来帮助。我们已经把旧的Wiki信息复制到这两个没有格式化的文件中了 ArtMatic Wiki 数据或 MetaSynth Wiki 遗留的数据。

MetaSynth 6.0.1 Montage。

如果你使用MS6,你可能需要使用一个模板来创建新的蒙太奇文件(MacOS 10.14)。通过以下方式下载一个 点击这里.

Xx 5.5 安装错误。

在安装Xx的过程中,可能会出现以下错误画面。这是由于磁盘权限不正确。它通常不会影响应用程序。如果有影响,请修复权限并重新安装。 下面是MacOS 10.14的说明。

Vodideelic (MacOS 9.x)。

经典扩展名必须开启才能运行。

苹果操作系统说明

配备macOS 11 Big Su的M1 Macintoshr 和macOS 12 Monterey的兼容性。

ArtMatic CTX 1.x和MetaSynth CTX 1.x已经在M1 Mac上通过了Big Sur/Monterey的测试(也可以在Intel Mac上运行)。安装时,请确保点击 "是 "以授予权限。通过订阅新闻通讯或加入facebook群组,关注发布更新。 ArtMatic用户组MetaSynth用户组.确保你运行的是CTX 1.2.x版本,以获得完全的图形兼容性。

在Catalina/BigSur/Montere上安装第三方程序y:

苹果公司要求客户在安装第三方应用程序时,控制+点击或鼠标右键点击安装程序并选择打开。然后点击打开按钮,接受该应用程序不是来自苹果商店。10.14 Mojave和更早的版本没有这个要求。

在MacOS 10.15(Catalina早期版本)中设计CTX和声音。

设计师使用44.1千赫的采样率。Mojave (10.14) 默认为44.1,但Catalina默认为48千赫。这将导致音频失真和预览音频时的节奏变化(渲染工作正常)。要解决这个问题,请在使用Designer时将Mac的音频输出设置改为44,100 hz。这可以通过Apple的Audio Midi Setup程序完成,该程序在Utilities文件夹中找到。最近的Catalina版本似乎已经恢复到44.1千赫作为默认值。

在MacOS 10.14 (Mojave)上运行32位应用程序。

当任何Carbon OS应用程序被启动时,可能会出现一个苹果错误对话框。这影响到所有软件公司。

苹果公司在MacOS 10.14(Mojave)之后已经停止了他们的碳操作系统软件平台。

Carbon是我们所知道的MacOS,但从MacOS 10.10开始,MacOS实际上是两个操作系统的合体--它还包括MacOS AppKit。iOS和AppKit一样,都是基于Cocoa的,而且苹果正在将这两个操作系统合并,并将Mac转移到运行iPhone、iPad和iWatch的相同处理器上。这意味着Carbon不得不停产。从MacOS 10.15开始,Carbon已经消失,因此客户无法运行Carbon应用程序。我们都有三个选择。1.用Catalina 10.15和Mojave 10.14运行一个双启动系统(需要重启)。我们使用 此工具 以下载不同的操作系统版本。2.在Catalina 10.15系统上 "虚拟 "运行Mojave 10.14,使用类似于 异同点 (没有重启,但渲染处理器较少)。3.留在Mojave 10.14或更早的MacOS版本上。许多录音室都在这样做,因为许多第三方插头是碳的。但是,对于很多人来说,这并不实际,所以选项1或2是更好的方法。如果记得从MacOS到Unix(MacOS X)的过渡,以及从PowerPC处理器到Intel处理器的过渡,这一切都会很熟悉。见下图。

苹果文件格式变化10.14(Mojave)。

11.0(大苏尔)。苹果在10.14版本中将MacOS的文件格式从HFS+改为APFS。这将剥夺您的文件的应用程序类型信息,并可能影响他们知道他们与哪个应用程序相关联。如果您有旧版的 Designer 文件,并将 Mac 更新到 10.14,则将无法再打开它们。要解决这个问题,在Designer CTX 1.0的浏览视图中选择父文件夹,然后选择要导入的文件夹,该文件夹会成为列表中的一个项目,其文件会出现在库中,然后你可以选择现代化文件夹(右上角齿轮图标)。如果你导入了多个文件夹,可以选择现代化库来更新所有的文件夹。在导入之前,请确保备份你的作品。其他选项有1.尝试使用MacOS上下文菜单中的Open With...。2.如果文件导入失败,请在文件中添加.artm扩展名。这将迫使MacOS将文件与Designer关联起来。

无障碍遵守记录

遵循无障碍原则 - 请查看508一致性报告 .

zh_CN简体中文
%d 博主赞过:

fbpx

Support

Unique Applications for Artists and Musicians

Getting Help

Eric Wenger’s apps are unique. If you are just getting started with his software, make sure to read the Online Help->Online Documentation within the CTX applications.

We also have video tutorials on our YouTube channel. Most are in English but some are in French based on the English online documents. For those, turn on the YouTube Closed Caption translator to read along in English.

Additional support categories include:

For Training and Documentation, please visit the Learning page.

eMail Support

If after reviewing these sections, you still have questions, please contact us via the form below.

Use this form for all PreSales and Sales questions.

Recommend a Feature

Did you encounter something unexpected in our software? Click below to submit a detailed issue report, with clear “Steps to Reproduce”, directly to the developer. Also, if you have a feature request, enter it here.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Make sure to request to receive the newsletter and keep up on the current news. If you’ve purchased U&I Software after 2018, you should already be on it.

Product Versions and Updates

  • Designer – CTX version 1.2.2
  • Voyager – CTX version 1.2.2
  • Explorer – CTX version 1.2.1
  • MetaSynth – CTX version 1.2.4
  • Xx – CTX version 1.0.4

Software Installation

To install on MacOS X 10.10 through 10.14.6 simply double click on the installers to run. On macOS (Catalina/Big Sur/Monterey), hold down the Control Key, click once on the installer and select Open, then approve installing.

Always back up your files before running an update. When installing a software update you have two options: 1. Run the installer to only update the application and associated new files. 2. Perform a “clean install” by updating the current application folder’s name before running the installer – useful if you want to retain earlier versions for older project files.

If installing on later versions of MacOS X or macOS, make sure to approve any permissions requests that appear.

If you are having problems installing or launching MetaSynth or Xx after install, your macOS or MacOS X has a permissions challenge. This is caused when the installer can’t access the Documents folder to place the demo projects installed there. Make sure to select YES to grant permissions during the install. If you click NO by accident, go to System Preferences -> Security & Privacy -> Privacy -> Full Disk Access -> Unlock the panel and click + and add the Installer App. This should bypass all blocking and allow the installer to work.

If you are still having trouble installing, check “Get Info” on your Documents folder to ensure your permissions are correct. MacOS X installs can become corrupted when they are ran via VMware. This can block access. Lastly, do a search for the demo folder “MetaSynth_Project” and ensure it is in the Users->[Account Name]-> documents folder. iCloud may have moved them.

The MetaSynth installer overwrites the three demo projects installed into the Documents folder, do not save work within them. To use them as starting points for a new project, duplicate the project folder and give it a unique name first.

Reset an Application’s Preferences

If the wrong serial number is entered, or if a preference setting is causing and issue, quit the program, delete the .prefs file in the application’s folder, and relaunch. This will restore the default settings and allow for a new serial number to be entered. Follow this procedure if you change the name of your MacOS X or macOS user account.

Access Your FastSpring Store Account

To download the latest update, 1. request a 24hour access link via email here. 2. Once received, click on the Account link in the email. 3. After accessing your account, click on the link ending in .pkg and the latest installer file will download.

The .pkg link in your account might display the product version from the time of purchase, ignore this, click anyhow. To verify the version, look at the About in the application menu (within the running program).

NOTES:

A. If an “account access” email does not arrive with a link: 1. Make sure you entered the email you set as your ID when purchasing. 2. Clear your browser’s cookies or try a different web browser. 3. Double check your email spam filter.

If it still does not arrive, please open a ticket with FastSpring Support support@fastspring.com and they will manually send you a link. If you’ve changed emails or used two different emails as IDs they can merge your accounts.

B. Browsers change all of the time and compatibility issues are common. If something does not work, for example clicking on a link to download, try a different browser, or use Apple’s “Context Menu (aka right mouse click)” to Save As…

C. If you are a Legacy Customer (have not purchased since December 2018), please contact U&I Software via our support page to obtain older serial numbers and downloads.

MetaSynth+Xx Product Notes

MetaSynth – Create a New Project Folder First:

Make sure to create a project and don’t save work to the demos, and they are overwritten by updates. To use the default project as a starting point, duplicate the project folder and give it a unique name. Open the folder and give the .presets and .mont files the same name as the folder.

Going Beyond 128 Pixels on the Y Axis in the Image Synth

Vertical is pitch. So, most scales are limited to a Y height of 128 this ensures that frequencies above 20k are not generated. To unlock a wider frequency range select Exponential, a custom scale, or one of the micro tunings.

MetaSynth+Xx File Version Support:

The CTX versions of MetaSynth and Xx can open some files from legacy versions. Changings in Apple’s OS platforms (MacOS, MacOS X, macOS), hard drive file formats, MacOS to MacOS X file formats, new application features, and available instruments play a role in determining if files can be opened, and what sounds are heard.

MetaSynth Compatibility

  • AppkitOS: MetaSynth CTX 1.x opens CTX 1.x, 6.x, and 5.x
  • CarbonOS: MetaSynth 6 opens 6.x, 5.x. (will update instruments)
  • CarbonOS: MetaSynth 5 opens 5.x and 4.x (will convert .pict to .png)
  • CarbonOS: MetaSynth 4 opens 4.x (will convert 2.5 / 2.7 files)
  • MacOS (Classic): MetaSynth opens 3.x, 2.x, 1.x

Xx Compatibility

  • Xx CTX 1.x can open CTX 1.0, and Legacy 5.5, 5.0, 4.0 Xx sequence packages (.xxfl file inside .xx package file).
  • PowerPC Xx 3.0 – 3.0, 2.0, 1.0 sequence files (PowerPC). Apple HSF Files are not compatible with Apple packages.

Support for converting MetaSynth 4 PICT files into v5 or v6 PNG, then CTX 1.x files with extensions: Migration Notes and Migration Chart

32-bit Float Format:

MetaSynth does not currently support 32-bit Float in .wav files. This is due to .wav historically not supporting this format. We are considering adding it in future releases. Use Apple’s Core Audio format instead.

Project File Tips

Install MetaSynth with iCloud off, this ensures that the MetaSynth_Project demo folder is placed into your actual local Documents folder. On launch, if it can’t find it, MetaSynth will try to make the folder MS_Project there instead. Keep your projects local (not remote), and don’t save work into the demo project folders (MetaSynth_Project SpectralMS_Project VoicesPhase_Project) as these are overwritten on reinstall.

Xx – Optional Audio Unit Support:

Audio Unit management can be challenging today. There are lots of them, and many are not to specifications and might fail. A third-party AU manager such as AudioFinder might be needed. You may need to manually manage, see this Apple article.

Xx CTX 1.0 supports up to 16 Audio Units at a time. The legacy Xx 5.5.supported 48. Older MacOS folder permissions can become corrupted blocking access to AUs. This is can be resolved by running Apple’s First Aid or a third-party app like BatchMod.

If you missed it, Apple discontinued their Carbon application platform with the release of Catalina (2019). CTX programs were recreated for their AppKit platform. You can’t use Carbon plugins in AppKit programs, only ones made for AppKit. Think of Carbon and AppKit as two different Operating Systems.

Image Synth as a Controller vs. MIDI as a Controller:

“In the Image Synth, synthesis does not really have any ON/OFF, each playing note has a variable volume envelope given by pixel brightness that can change over the course of the note, and a note that can be any pitch in double precision (64 bits). You can imagine how the paradigm differs (from MIDI). When people ask about using any Audio Unit (AU plugin) for Image Synth synthesis they have no idea how unrealistic that is. One has to stress the power of the Image Synth principles and also to explain why MetaSynth instruments have to stay internal (limits of complexity) for this massive synthesis strategy to work in real-time.” – Eric Wenger.

Xx Files vs. Packages

Apple’s pre-Unix OS used files. Project files did not have application-type extensions. Later Apple OSs can have “package” files with files inside. Don’t change the name of the package in Finder or this will break the link between the package and the .xxfl sequence file inside. To keep the name the same, copy files, don’t duplicate.

ArtMatic Product Notes

Voyager Render Time:

Voyager CTX 1.0 uses all available CPU processors and includes rendering time optimizations. Pro User Tips: 1. The “Better” setting is much faster at rendering than “Best”, which is rarely needed. 2. Rendering to a “List of Images” is much faster than to a QuickTime movie. Use this method then, and then compile the images in your video editor. The new macOS (Catalina/Big Sur/Monterey) Quicktime can do this as well. 3. Duplicate the Voyager application folder, launch both and render two different scenes at once.

Designer File Version Support:

Not all versions of Designer and Voyager can open older ArtMatic engine files. The ability to open does not equal compatibility with later versions as components may have been changed or added.

Programs for AppKit OS (Catalina/BigSur/Monterey plus 10.10-10.14.6)

  • Designer CTX 1.2 opens CTX 1.2, CTX 1.1, CTX 1.0, Legacy 7.5 (results may vary)
  • Designer CTX 1.1 opens CTX 1.1, CTX 1.0, Legacy 7.5
  • Designer CTX 1.0 opens: CTX 1.0, 7.5, 7.2 (when using Normalized Colors).
    Files from 6.0 may need to be modified for changes in colors and alpha ranges, or components.

Programs for Carbon OS (10.x-10.14.6) and Intel Processor

  • Legacy Designer 7.5, opens 7.5, and 7.2, 6.x, 5.x but colors may change.
  • Legacy Designer 7.2 opens: 7.2, 6.x, 5.x
  • Legacy Designer 6.x can open: 6.x, 5.x, 4.x

Programs for Carbon OS (10.x-10.14.6) PowerPC Processor

  • Legacy ArtMatic Pro (Designer) 5
  • Legacy ArtMatic (Designer) 4

Programs for MacOS (Classic) and PowerPC

  • Legacy ArtMatic (Designer) 3.x, can open 2.x, 1.x (PowerPC Only).

ArtMatic programs are paired to an ArtMatic Engine version. CTX apps pair to engine version 8.x, The final Legacy versions to 7.x, etc. Legacy Designer 7.5 pairs with Voyager 4.5 and vQuartz 4.5.

CTX ArtMatic Engine Versions and Pairing.

Designer File Loading:

Double-clicking on an ArtMatic file while Designer is not running, loads a default file. Make sure to open Designer and use the Browser or File Open to load files.

Designer vs, Explorer Keyframes:

Working with keyframes in the Explore room of Designer, and the Explorer application functions differently from the Design room. Eric Wenger has stated “The Explore room provides direct access to published keyframe parameters values so you can edit KF data directly. It is a different approach to the Design room. Its advantages are you don’t have to record keyframes and envelopes values as they are reflected consistently in the parameters sliders. You wouldn’t have these abilities if the parameters sliders reflected the current state instead of KF states. Parameter sliders can be used to make slight adjustments of envelopes values which would be impossible if they are linked to the current state as in the Design Room. Meaning, if I use the Design Room approach there won’t be any way to adjust the envelope data numerically. Also, the same logic applies for Voyager “edit artmatic param” inspector which does not use the keyframe selection & display and where direct editing of KF values is necessary. Once you know how it works, it is actually quite efficient and makes animation parameters editing faster.”

Unique File Saving Process:

“ArtMatic and Voyager now lets you set the directory for saving separately so you don’t have to do it everytime.  While this departs from Apple’s standard, it has the strong advantage of allowing you to select a working directory only once – which saves users a huge amount of time. Just click on the path to change/rename it when needed. But note, if you make a lot of modifications in an ArtMatic system it is best to save the system under a new name, so the issue of overriding a render won’t happen, as the picture will have a new default name.” – Eric Wenger

Setting Video Length to Audio

The movie render window allows users to select a subset of the full video time to render. It is not for increasing the video length. To do so, use the “wristwatch” icon to click and drag to the right until the Duration is as desired. When using “Master Audio Input” to control a video, make sure to note down the length of the audio file, then use the “wristwatch” icon to match.

Legacy Products for Carbon or MacOS (Classic) Overview

Eric Wenger’s Software Development History:

Legacy Customer Products:

Two years after Apple discontinued the Carbon platform, upgrades to the final versions of our obsolete products for that OS are no longer being offered. To ensure customers can use the latest features in CTX programs, they are backward compatible on MacOS X 10.10-10.14 . Visit our store for more details.

Legacy Customers Store:

In 2018 U&I moved to a professional and secure eCommerce store platform (FastSpring). Customers were notified quarterly to re-register their current products (Designer 7.2, Voyager 4.2, MetaSynth 6.0.1, Xx 5.5) in the new store. Re-registering is no longer available, please contact support directly. We have retained records from the old store and serials are available on request.

Legacy Wiki Site:

When moving to the new site, it was more difficult to keep this working than expected. We now provide video tutorials and product experts to help. We’ve copied the old Wiki information into these two unformatted documents ArtMatic Wiki data or the MetaSynth Wiki data for legacy purposes.

MetaSynth 6.0.1 Montage:

If you use MS6, you may need to use a template to create new Montage files (MacOS 10.14). Download one by clicking here.

Xx 5.5 Install Error:

During the install of Xx the following error screen may appear: This is due to incorrect disk permissions. It doesn’t usually impact the application. If it does, repair permissions and reinstall. Here are the instructions MacOS 10.14.

Videodelic (MacOS 9.x):

Classic Extensions must be On to run.

Apple Operating Systems Notes

M1 Macintosh with macOS 11 Big Sur and macOS 12 Monterey Compatibility:

The ArtMatic CTX 1.x and MetaSynth CTX 1.x have passed testing with Big Sur/Monterey on M1 Macs (also runs on Intel Macs). When installing, make sure to click “Yes” to grant permissions. Watch for release updates by subscribing to the Newsletter or joining a facebook group: ArtMatic User Group and MetaSynth User Group. Make sure you are running a CTX 1.2.x version for full graphics compatibility.

Installing Third-Party programs on Catalina/BigSur/Monterey:

Apple requires customers installing Third-Party applications to Control+Click or Right Mouse click on the installer and select Open. Then click the Open button, to accept that the app is not from the Apple Store. 10.14 Mojave and earlier do not require this.

Designer CTX and Sound in MacOS 10.15 (Catalina Early Releases):

Designer uses a 44.1 khz sample rate. Mojave (10.14) defaults to 44.1 but Catalina defaults to 48 khz. This causes audio distortion and tempo changes when previewing audio (rendering works fine). To resolve this, change your Mac’s audio output setting to 44,100 hz when using Designer. This can be done with Apple’s Audio Midi Setup program found in the Utilities folder. Recent builds of Catalina appear to have returned to 44.1 khz as a default.

Running 32 bit applications on MacOS 10.14 (Mojave):

An Apple Error Dialog may appear when any Carbon OS application is launched. This impacts all software companies.

Apple Has Discontinued Their Carbon OS Software Platform after MacOS 10.14 (Mojave):

Carbon was MacOS as we knew it, but starting with MacOS 10.10 MacOS was really two operating systems in one – it also included MacOS AppKit. Carbon was more powerful, flexible, and reliable so U&I products remained on that platform. iOS, like AppKit, is Cocoa based and Apple is moving to merge the two OS’s and also move the Mac to the same processors that run iPhones, iPads, and iWatches. This meant Carbon had to be discontinued. Starting with MacOS 10.15 Carbon is gone and so customers can’t run Carbon applications. We all have three options: 1. Run a dual boot system with Catalina 10.15 and Mojave 10.14 (restart required). We use this tool to download different OS versions. 2. Run Mojave 10.14 “virtually” on a Catalina 10.15 system by using a program like Parallels (no reboot but less rendering processors). 3. Remain on Mojave 10.14 or an earlier MacOS version. Many recording studios are doing this as many third-party plugs are Carbon. But, for many folks this isn’t practical so options 1 or 2 are the better ways to go. If remember the transition from MacOS to Unix (MacOS X), and the transition from PowerPC processors to Intel processors, this will all be familiar. See chart below.

Apple File Format Changes 10.14 (Mojave):

11.0 (Big Sur): Apple changed its MacOS file format in 10.14 from HFS+ to APFS. This strips away your file’s Application Type information and can impact them knowing which application they are associated with. If you have older Designer files and update your Mac to 10.14 opening them will no longer work. To work around this, select Parent in Designer CTX 1.0’s Browse view, and select a folder to import, the folder will become an item on the list with its files appearing in the library, then you can select Modernize Folder (gear icon top right). If you import multiple folders, you can select the Modernize Library to update all of them. Make sure to back up your work before importing it. Other options are: 1. Try using Open With… in the MacOS context menu. 2. If a file fails to import add an .artm extension to the file. This will force MacOS to associate the file with Designer.

Accessibility Compliance Record

Accessibility Compliance – Please find out 508 Conformance Report Here.

en_USEnglish
%d bloggers like this: